Boloco Buff Chick Burritos

When I was going to school in Boston, the ultimate treat was heading over to the Boloco on the corner and snaggle-snagging one of their hot and tangy buffalo chicken burritos. If it was a really special occasion I’d get the biggest size, but usually I stuck with a regular, or a mini if I was feeling particularly guilty about my purchase. For those of you who aren’t familiar, Boloco is a New England based chain restaurant that specializes in non-traditional burritos and shakes. And it’s amazing.

IMG_3033

The blue cheese and hot sauce look so happy together

Even now when I visit Boston I always stop by. I still relish the sound the tinfoil makes when it’s gingerly peeled back to reveal a steaming tortilla, ready to burst with hot sauce and blue cheese dressing. Just as you can hear the ocean when your ear is to a conch, you can hear the song of Boloco foil when your ear is to a ‘rito.

IMG_3039

My mouth waters every time I look at that sauce!

Since it’s not entirely feasible to drive to Boston every time I have a hankering for this edible bundle of joy, I made this copycat version. And if I do say so myself, it’s pretty darn close. It’s not a science, so these measurements are not exact. Add more or less of what you do or don’t like. Also, if you’re wondering why I used tofu instead of chicken,it’s because I’m just not in a meat mood this week! And this burrito is fantastic either way.

INGREDIENTS:

2 small whole wheat tortillas

1 cup cooked brown rice

1 stalk of celery, sliced

1/2 cup cooked tofu or chicken

2 tbsp Frank’s buffalo hot sauce

2 tbsp lite blue cheese dressing

IMG_3001

To cook tofu, simply sautee in about a tbsp of oil and seasoning for a few minutes on medium-low. I used sesame oil since tofu is so bland on its own.

DIRECTIONS:

Lay each tortilla on its own square of tinfoil. Split all ingredients between the two tortillas. With a spoon, swirl each pile of ingredients so that everything is mixed in. Tuck the flaps on the left and right sides of the tortilla inward, then roll away from you while continuing to tuck the sides in. Wrap in tinfoil. Eat!

IMG_3040

Served with hibiscus rooibos tea– very refreshing

 

 

Leave a Reply

